Sun Fast 3600 “Kraken” wins Sydney-Hobart Battery Point Trophy

The new Jeanneau Sun Fast 3600 “Kraken” took part in the recent Sydney-Hobart with owner Todd Giraudo and his West Australian crew on their first Sydney-Hobart campaign.

Having not done the race before, and on a new boat that they had only raced three times prior, it was always going to be a challenge, but they raced hard, learnt a lot and did very well.

The Battery Point Trophy is awarded to the fastest elapsed time of a small yacht and is a 1/3rd scale replica of the America’s Cup and in addition to winning that trophy they won the Plum Crazy Trophy for being the first yacht under 9.5m to complete, finished 5th overall in Division 4, and 21st overall in a highly competitive fleet.